Project Ramon

A learning journey from a Ruby noob perspective

Picks of the week: A shortlist of recent favorites

potw_header_img

Hello and welcome!

Today I’ll be sharing three recent favorite discoveries of mine.

 

Pick #1: Growing Rails Applications In Practice

potw1

I found this while reading a Green Ruby News email. Chances are, you read Green Ruby News also and saw this. I purchased the book and have enjoyed my reading so far of the first couple of chapters!

What I’ve found exceptional is how clear they are in illustrating how to write Rails applications that are a joy to understand & change even as our codebase increases in size.

If you’re like me and find yourself in search for ways to better organize your code base or would prefer to not depend on a large amount of gems that do things you may not understand, this book is definitely worth looking into.

 

Pick #2: Helppier

potw2

I stumbled upon this cool site while browsing the net a week or so ago. I like it so much that I’m giving it my “Killer Idea!” Award.

The Award:

Their caption pretty much says it all. I could easily see myself trying them out as this sounds like a real time saver and user experience enhancment.

 

Pick #3: BizChair.com

potw3

When I started to learn programming back at the end of 2010, I purchased an office chair among other things. I guess I had no concept of how long I would be using this chair to learn in, but I bought a $49.00 basic swivel chair that I found on sale.

Big mistake!

Until recently, I used to get frequent neck and back pains due to lack of any reasonably sustainable padding or support. I’ve been meaning to upgrade for a while and finally made it a priority to purchase a better chair.

This is the first time I have made a purchase from Biz Chair, but wont be the last. Call me a sucker for competitive pricing and quick shipments 🙂

Here is the chair I ended up with:

potw4

potw5

At the time of this post, there are like just over 100 of these left, so if you’re currently in the market for a chair or just enjoy spoiling your neck & back from time to time head over to their site and give them a browse.

Needless to say, I am elated with the purchase! The chair perfectly contours my lower back, shoulders and neck. Its like having a chiropractor in the room with me 🙂

I hope that you’ve enjoyed these picks.

Have a productive week remaining!

Categories: Newbie

Leave a Reply

