Project Ramon

A learning journey from a Ruby noob perspective

This week I’m learning: Vim using vimtutor

Hello!

Over the weekend and first couple of days this week, I’ve stumbled upon a well put together Vim blog post!

I’ve only gotten as far as using vimtutor (you can start this up by opening your terminal and simply typing vimtutor), but am looking forward to reading all of the resources provided from the following post.

 

Learning Vim

Screen Shot 2014-10-14 at 11.59.01 AM

If you’re interested in learning Vim, check out this post entitled “Vim for people who think things like Vim are weird and hard

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

  1. Hey Ramon,

    I have used Vimtutor before and it’s nice. It’s not easy at first time, but as everything; the more I practise the more my hand get use to Vim keystrokes.

    Currently I’m using sublime as my Text Editor and Terminal as my Command Line Editor. It’s nice to work with both, but I don’t know if you feel the same, I spend so much time on toggling between both editors. Besides, while using terminal I find myself forced to use the keyboard only, while using sublime (or any other text editor) I find my hand leaves its home (the keyyyyyyys) and travel all the way down to the mouse or touchpad. Auh, too much work.

    Nice post as usual Ramon. Keep it up.
    Look forward for more posts about VIM and resources you use.

    Cheers,
    Ahmed

  2. I’m currently using sublime text 2 as well. Have you tried size-up? It makes it easier to switch between panes and saves me a lot of time when switching between the browser, the various tabs in my terminal and sublime.

    I’m currently working towards finishing a project, but am looking to pick up the blog frequency once I have more time available to do so.

    Thanks for the encouraging comment my friend!

    Hope all is well 🙂

    Ramon

Leave a Reply

