Project Ramon

A learning journey from a Ruby noob perspective

Picks of The Week

Hello and happy valentines day!

Today I’ll be sharing a few resources that I have found helpful over the past couple of weeks as I’ve been studying to learn more about an API’s environment and components as it pertains to Ruby/Rails. I’m thinking that I’ll be at the point educationally this coming week to start integrating the zesty.com API into my application.

Kobra.io
Teamwork Redefined

potw_02-14-14_img7

This first pick is something I recently found that brought a big smile to my face. I remember ping pong pairing with Mark Sim a while back, and being blown away by him showing me how we could use Vim and Tmux to pair program from a shared terminal.

There was a quote on the Kobra.io website that resonated with something I heard from Adam Cuppy in our lastest AirPair together about improvement as a developer. Here’s the quote they used:

Coming together is a beginning; keeping together is progress; working together is success.
– Henry Ford

I asked Adam Cuppy how many years it took him to learn to keep the data-model of my project (which he just looked at that day during our pair) in his head while he instructed me. His reply stuck with me, he said:

When you’re really burried in a project, and pairing alot, side-by-side for like 6 to 8 hours a day, it [learning] happens really fast!

The way to level up in programming is to pair program often. And though I’ve heard this before, I haven’t done this nearly enough with the friends I’ve made during my time with AirPair, and I’m planning on changing this soon.

Kobra.io is poised to also be a solid alternative for those of us who don’t use Vim regularly. Their beta phase launch is slated for a week from today, and if you’re interested in giving this browser-based collaboration platform a try, you should head to their site and register!

The Odin Project

potw_02-14-14_img6

The Oden Project is another brand new website designed with a noob’s education goals clearly in their sites.

This site (free during alpha) provides a clear cut game plan for an inexperienced developer such as myself to go from start to job-competent. I personally am planning to use their API tutorial to help get me liftoff confidence this coming week.

potw_02-14-14_img4

I’m extremely excited that  developers such as the three above are so giving and  dedicated to providing assistance solutions to aid those of us new to the industry in learning  effectively the how and what of  traversing the beginner’s arena, helping us limit the number of less-effective pitfalls and habits along the way.

At the Odin Project, they’re specialty is providing 3 things. A proven path towards improvement, guidance in portfolio creation, and an environment that encourages social learning.

potw_02-14-14_img5

If you’re a relatively new or inexperienced coder like myself, you owe yourself a valentines-day visit to their site, my guess is that you’ll love it!

Study Resources

Finally I’d like to share some random links to resources I found to be valuable education personally.

And finally, here’s the link to my latest AirPair with Adam! If you’re looking to level-up your dev skill-sets and enjoy learning from someone who can take complex concepts and break them down into understandable bites of knowledge, schedule a few hours with him on AirPair, your understanding of all things will increase 🙂 .

Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

Categories: Newbie

Tags:

2 replies

  1. Hey Ramon, great post as usual.
    Thanks for such valuable post. I knew of “the Oden Project” before and worked with their curriculum for while but for some reason I stopped while ago. Now I’m back, thanks for your reminder.

    Keep up the great job,
    When is our next pairing 😉 ?

    Ahmed

Leave a Reply

