Project Ramon

A learning journey from a Ruby noob perspective

Learning APIs with Ruby

api1_header_img

Over the past day or so, I’ve been doing some research about using API’s in Ruby. My first stop was at codeacademy, where I completed their Order.in exercise after going through the preliminary exercises explaining REST, and the request/response cycle between a client and server.

Today I thought I would share the information I’ve found valuable so far. If you know of any additional resources to better gain an understanding of using APIs in Ruby feel free to leave a comment.

CodeAcademy

My first action step towards learning about APIs. I definitely recommend giving their How to use APIs with Ruby lesson a try if you’re brand-new to the API environment, like myself.

I would also suggest following these exercises up with CodeAcademy’s Ordr.in project, you’ll even receive a nice looking email at the end of the project.

api_img1

I wouldn’t be surprised if there was a lot more to API’s than included in this project, but it was a ton of fun and codeacademy did a great job of providing the education without me feeling overwhelmed.

Thanks CodeAcademy!

Reading List

Next, I started googling to discern how much free information was out there on the topic. I’ve found the following links helpful, and plan on utilizing them during this week’s remainder.

Videos

Last but not least, here are a small list of videos I’ve either watched or will watch during the week’s remainder.

Architecting a RESTful API with Ruby on Rails

Building Ambitious APIs with Ruby

REST + JSON API Design – Best Practices for Developers

 

I hope you enjoy these resources! I’ll be writing more posts on APIs in Ruby as I learn more.

Stay tuned…

 

Categories: Uncategorized

3 replies

  1. Thanks for sharing. I have not work enough with APIs but after your post I will revisit it again.
    Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

