Project Ramon

A learning journey from a Ruby noob perspective

Pick of the week: Pull Review in Action

pick_of_the_week_11-29-13_header_img

I hope that you all enjoyed yesterday’s holiday!  I am quickly wrapping up my current project Seven Day Sports, and will have an AirPair over the weekend to make sure I have implemented the project correctly.

Today’s pick of the week comes all the way from Belgium! I was drawn to this site as the first in a list I’ve collected of code review sites, and over the past few months I have seen the immense benefits of having your code looked over by other people.

This site is pretty cool, the concept of having ‘code’ review ‘my code’ appealed to me initially, and I have learned more about code decisions from syncing my Github repo with their software.

While there are some things I would like the option of turning off temporarily, like the warnings about lack of documentation. The explanations of why they were included and the instruction towards correcting the warnings or errors, which include links to educational resources, exceeded my expectations of the site.

Here’s an illustration to showcase some of what Pull Review provides:

potw_img1

This is the dashboard page where all of your synced repositories are. I especially appreciate the status image showing me the overall ratio of good to ‘smelly’ code left to refactor in my application.

potw_img2

potw_img3

The above illustrations are from my project’s master branch. The color coded ‘smells’ are a nice touch, and I’m assuming that red is worse than purple if a comparison of ‘bad smells’ is even an appropriate distinction for me to make.

This next illustration is where an individual like myself can use to locate my ‘bad’ code, and view examples of how to improve, along with links to educational resources about the topic(s) that will help improve the way I write similar code of this sort in the future.

potw_img4

potw_img5

Last but certainly not least is the cost to try out this software. There’s a 31-day free trial, after which, you can utilize their free ‘open-source’ account where you can sync unlimited public repositories. Or you can chose to utilize their ‘Solo’ user package which includes unlimited ‘open-sourced’ and unlimited ‘private’ repositories for just under 30.00 USD.

There are definitely other code review sites that I am looking forward to trying, such as Katrina Owen’s exercism.io. But Pull Review has been an easy to implement and fun to use exercise while learning to improve my code through refactoring.

Categories: Ruby on rails

Tags: , , ,

2 replies

  1. Hi Ramon!
    I’m Martin from PullReview. Thanks a lot for your detailed post, we hope to continue to be useful to improve your code and knowledge. If you have any suggestion on how to improve PullReview, don’t hesitate to contact me @martinvanaken.

    Martin

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 496 other followers